My Double Life

I'm new to the world of blogging, so I feel like I should start out with a little background info. I grew up in a small town in Oklahoma and came back a couple of years ago to set up shop, so to speak. I like the small town feel and don't see that changing anytime soon, but who really knows what tomorrow will bring.

I sometimes feel a bit like Batman, leading a double life, legal assistant by day and aspiring artist by night. (Or maybe Catwoman is more appropo since I'm female?) I work normal 8 hour days, then come home at night and try to balance domesticity and my art. I usually work anywhere from two to three and a half or four hours at night, depending on my current project. Unlike Catwoman though, unless I have a deadline, I take the weekends off!
I started painting mainly for fun, and now it's turned into something I'm spending all my spare time on. It started as projects for nurseries and baby gifts. I've done canvas letters, monagrams, wall murals, full names on canvas, canvas birth announcements, stepping stools, personalized picture frames, all kinds of stuff really. Lately I've also been doing more customized type items, like art for a particular space (living room or entry for example) with a specific color scheme. I really just enjoy painting and like new and challenging projects, so I'm up for whatever comes my way!

On that note, I'll post a picture of my latest painting, then go from there when I have more time. I named this one Oogli the Octopus. I have a friend who is decorating her living room in these colors (Red, Tiffany Blue, Black and White). She gave me the color scheme, which I immediatley liked since it was so different. After tossing it around in my head for a while it hit me, an ocean scene, perfect. I still have to put the protective coating over the canvas, but it's essentially finished. That's all for now, xoxo.


Post a Comment

Let me know what you think!!